Blog #1

Chicopee schools expand technology use to give teachers instant feedback

Part l Summary: This article touches on the advantages of having technology in the every day classroom. Anna Barry School is using recent technology to engage the students in learning. The children receive a device that looks a lot like a remote and they are able to put their answer in it. This is an easy way for the students and the teachers to get instant feedback. Allyson Sederland, a fifth grade teacher at Anna Barry School, uses this technology for things such as spelling tests, centers, and some independent work. She finds that the children really enjoy using the technology. Because she is able to get instant feedback, Sederland decides what subjects she needs to go over again. The remote technology was also popular with Fairview Veterans Memorial Middle School. Teachers were able to attend a class that instructed them on how to use such technology. Although a lot of teachers enjoy using this technology, some still grade papers by hand so parents are able to see their child’s work. Technology is not a thing of the past and is getting more and more advanced each and everyday.

Part ll Questions and Answers:

Q1: How will the issue help or hinder your teaching practice? Why?

A1: I believe that this issue will help my teaching practice. Technology is growing and children are more exposed to it then they were in the past. If they are able to use technology at school, I believe that they will be more engaged in the subject and are more eager to learn. Technology in the classroom is also beneficial for the teacher because they get instant feedback on how their students are doing. Teachers are able to change and fix their teaching practices more efficiently. The only way it could hinder my teaching practice is for the children to rely too much on the technology. Other than that, technology in the classroom is a very helpful tool for both teachers and students.

Q2: What is your opinion of the issue in the article? Agree or disagree? Why?

A2: I think that technology is a great way of getting the students involved in the classroom and a great way of getting instant feedback, as I mentioned in my answer above. I believe that technology is a good thing, but I do not think that it should be used for everything that the children learn in the classroom. I personally enjoy hands on activities, so I think the remote technology is one way to satisfy that, but I also think that children should do other hands on activities. With subjects such as science, students should be able to do different experiments without technology. When I become a teacher, I do not want my students relying on technology every time to give them the answer. Overall, I believe that technology is good in the classroom, as long as its used appropriately and has moderation to it.

Q3: What examples of issues have you observed in your own experience?

A3: I grew up with limited technology in my elementary classrooms. It was only until I reached middle and high school, where I saw a slight change of the use of technology. I had a mix of education with and without technology. I thought that I learned more efficiently when I was forced to do the work on my own. Students are able to get the answers they need a lot more quickly with computers and other devices close at hand. When I was in elementary school, I had to look up a definition of a word in the dictionary and now students today can look it up on their iPads and laptops. I do not want to see children not being able to learn as much because they have so much access to technology. Do not get me wrong, I think that technology is a great way to get kids involved. I think because as a child, I was not exposed to technology and that’s why I did not rely on it as much in school and therefore learned better without it for a while. Now, children are exposed to it at a younger age, so maybe it is more beneficial for them than it was for me. This article has shown me that students do seem to enjoy using it and it is a great way of getting fast and easy results; I just hope that students are still fully learning the material.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

